Traffic Violation News

How to Get Car Insurance Without a License

Auto Insurance Policy

The question of the day is can you get car insurance without a license? Not having a license means that it may be difficult to get car insurance. There are some exceptions to this rule, but overall, you should always have a license to get car insurance.

We will explain why that is the case, the types of insurance you can get without a license, and what penalties can happen if you try to drive without a license and insurance. We’ll also look at the process of applying for car insurance.

Why You Need a License to Get Car Insurance

There are two main reasons why it may be challenging to get insurance without a license, and they are all tied together. Below, we will look at each reason in detail.

The Provider Needs to Know if You’re a High-Risk Driver

High-risk drivers are people that are more likely to run a red light, tailgate, or engage in other high-risk driving behaviors. Disobeying the traffic laws and getting multiple moving violations are red flags for insurance providers. If they can’t determine if you’re high-risk, they will be less inclined to insure you.

Not having a license means that you don’t have a driving record. Providers don’t want to deal with the uncertainty of insuring someone that doesn’t have one because that person could be a reckless driver.

Your driving record determines your monthly premiums. Insurance providers won’t fully grasp the scope of what they should charge you if you don’t have a license.

You Can’t File a Claim Without a License

If you do get a monthly premium and car insurance by a slim chance, you won’t be able to get a payout from your insurance claim without a license. Insurance companies automatically reject claims filed without a valid driver’s license because regardless of who’s at fault for the car accident, you violate the law by not having one.

What types of insurance can I get without a license?

Trying to get insurance from a major provider will be nearly impossible if you don’t have a license, but there are ways around that. The easiest way to get insurance without a license is to check your regional and local insurance providers. If you don’t have a license, they will often insure you if you list yourself as an excluded driver on the policy.

You can also get comprehensive insurance for when the car is in storage or parked somewhere. Just be warned, though: If you are pulled over for any reason, you will be treated as if you never had insurance in the first place and will be served a ticket and a fine.

There are special circumstances that allow for getting insurance without a license. One of those circumstances being that you have a learner’s permit. Another circumstance is that you have someone doing your driving for you.

The Penalties of not Having Insurance or a License While Driving

The penalties for not having insurance or a license are severe. Not having both is considered a misdemeanor. Below, we will look at what the consequences may be.

Hefty Fines

Fines for driving without a license or insurance can add up to $2,000. Depending on the state you live in, the fine will vary. Delaware has the most expensive fines.

Repeat offenders get even higher fines that can equal up to $5,000. Hawaii is the most expensive state for repeat offenders.

Community Service

The maximum hours of community service you would have to do if you were caught driving without a license or insurance would be 240 hours. New Jersey has the highest number of hours you would need to complete.

Jail Time

Driving without a license or insurance is a serious offense and can lead to some jail time, especially if you get into a car accident in the process. You could be locked up for 15 days or two years, depending on where you live. In New York, you can spend up to 15 days in jail. Maryland has the most severe penalty of up to two years for repeat offenders.

Being Required to Get an SR-22

SR-22, also known as Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR), is required by the DMV if you are caught driving without insurance. It is like an insurance policy for high-risk drivers. States require you to have SR-22 ranging from a year to five years.

The consequences of driving without a license or insurance are life-changing and severe. Be mindful of these repercussions the next time you want to go without either of these things.

How to Apply for Car Insurance

Applying for car insurance can be done in two easy steps. Below, we will look at each step in detail. 

Get Quotes from Insurance Providers

This step is the easiest of them all. Many providers offer free insurance quotes. These quotes factor in your driving record, your credit score, and what discounts can be applied to your future policy.

Once you’ve received some quotes from different companies, it’s time to compare those insurance quotes. Use an Excel spreadsheet to organize the different selections and contrast them with one another.

Choose Your Provider

Once you’ve found the cheapest rate or the rate you like best, it’s time to choose your provider. Make sure you look thoroughly at your policy and make sure you don’t have any hidden fees.

Driving is a Privilege, Not a Right

Make sure you have a license and are covered under an insurance policy. Having a license and insurance keeps you and others safe. Driving is a privilege, not a right.

Make sure to have the proper insurance and the correct documentation to drive. Driving without a license or insurance can lead to some intense penalties. Don’t be that person that gets locked up for not having a license or insurance.


Peyton Leonard writes and researches for the insurance site, Peyton aims to encourage safe driving practices by helping them recognize the importance of having insurance, a license, and abiding by traffic laws.

Footer Add  1